Fantasy

  • ScalesAndScoundrels_Vol01 Web cover

    Sebastian Girner-Scales And Scoundrels-Interview

    Sebastian Girner-Scales And Scoundrels-Interview Check out this special edition of the Geeked Gods Interview Podcast Scales and Scoundrels Vol 1 is out now: Pick it up wherever you buy Graphic Novels-Do it, it’s quite good. We chat with Sebastian Girner about his and Galaad’s new Image Comics series Scales...
  • SCALES01_Cover web

    Scales & Scoundrels #1 Review

    Scales & Scoundrels #1 Review By John Saavedra   The comics industry serves up quite a few high fantasy adventure comics every month. If you’re into sword and sorcery books, you’ve got tons of options, but I bet none of them are quite as charming as Scales & Scoundrels,...
  • Reborn-1 WEB

    Review: Reborn Book One

    Mark Millar’s Reborn has been out of control since the start, and by the end of the sixth issue, it seems that everything is completed, exhausted, and satisfyingly finished. The book plays with the idea that there is neither Heaven nor Hell after death; instead, there’s a world of The Lord of...
  • Feature Sixth Gun

    Review – The Sixth Gun, Book 1: Cold Dead Fingers

    The Sixth Gun is a western written like an epic fantasy. Most of the characters are human but spending time around six guns has left them altered. Like Bilbo passing the One Ring over to Frodo, Becky doesn’t realize what she’s signing up for when she picks up her...
  • realm-of-the-elderlings-finished-shelf-picture cover

    Robin Hobb’s Fantasy Epic Realm of The Elderlings

    Robin Hobb has been publishing excellent fantasy books since the early 80s, but it was the publication of Assassin’s Apprentice in 1995 that put her on the map. I was first drawn to her books in middle school by their brightly illustrated colors. Assassin’s Apprentice kicked off a huge,...
  • UNHOLY_GRAIL_01_cvr-A-cover

    UNHOLY GRAIL #1 Review a delightfully gritty re-telling of the legendary story of King Arthur

      UNHOLY GRAIL #1-A Review By James O’Donnell   Unholy Grail, Aftershock Comic’s latest offering from Cullen Bunn (Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe, Godzilla: Cataclysm) and artist Mirko Colak (Red Skull Incarnate, Conan: The Nightmare of the Shadows) is a delightfully gritty re-telling of the legendary story of King...
  • american-goods

    The ‘American Gods’ Series Premiere is Everything a Fan Could Hope For

    When I first heard that Neil Gaiman’s beloved novel American Gods was being adapted for a TV series, I was, understandably, a little concerned. The novel has quickly garnered a rabid cult following for its intricate and surreal tale of the New Gods versus the Old. With such an outlandish story –...
  • MAR170672

    Review: Vaughn and Luna’s ETERNAL EMPIRE #1

    Fans of Sarah Vaughn and Jonathan Luna’s Alex + Ada series will be nothing short of delighted with Eternal Empire, their newest sci-fi tale. While the introductory issue may be a little off-putting for those newly acquainted with Luna’s highly-stylized artwork, longtime fans are in for more of the same unique...
  • afar

    Review – Leila Del Luca and Kit Seaton’s AFAR

    There’s something so satisfying about reading a self-contained graphic novel. No, the story doesn’t exist for more than one volume, but when done correctly, they can be just as powerful. As they say, quality over quantity. If you need further proof, all you must do is read Afar, a beautifully illustrated...